Ask The Editors Logo - click here to go back to the home page
News divider Features divider Schedules & Results divider Rankings and Stats divider Community My Profile Login



27 MAY 2018


Eaton creates Hall of Fame history

The 2002 inductees into the prestigious International Boxing Hall of Fame have been announced including a few surprises.

Aileen Eaton became the first woman inducted after promoting over 10,000 fights in a long and prolific career between 1942 and 1980. Great names such as Sugar Ray Robinson, Carmen Basilio, George Foreman and Joe Frazier graced Eaton’s cards and her first ever show featured none over than the legendary three-weight champ Henry Armstrong.

“It may turn a few heads that a woman is going into the boxing Hall of Fame,” said Ed Brophy, the Hall of Fame’s Executive Director. “But in terms of promoting fights, in terms of longevity and success, Aileen Eaton was unparalleled.”

Eaton, who died aged 78 in 1987, was honored in the non-participant category. Also to be inducted on Hall of Fame weekend in Canastota on June 9 will be former world heavyweight champion Ingemar Johansson, WBA welterweight king Pipino Cuevas, WBA light-heavyweight champion Victor Galindez and three-weight title-holder Jeff Fenech in the modern-era category.

Full list of inductees: Former feather and super-featherweight champ Benny Bass; world welterweight champion Aaron Brown aka The Dixie Kid; Sportswriter Jimmy Cannon; Manager of Rocky Graziano Irving Cohen; Pipino Cuevas; Aileen Eaton; former bantam champ Sixto Escobar; Jeff Fenech; Victor Galindez; Reg Gutteridge; ex-world bantamweight champion Harry Harris; heavyweight John Heenan; Ingemar Johansson; pioneer Charley Mitchell; former bantamweight champion Owen Moran; Sportswriter Damon Runyon; undefeated welterweight Young Dutch Sam and Rocky Marciano’s promoter Sam Silverman.

License/buy our content  |  Privacy policy  |  Terms & conditions  |  Copyright  |  Advertising guide  |  Site Map  |  Write for  |  SecondsOut Contacts  |  Contact Us

© 2000 - 2011 Knockout Entertainment Ltd &