Ask The Editors Logo - click here to go back to the home page
News divider Features divider Schedules & Results divider Rankings and Stats divider Community My Profile Login



18 JUNE 2018


Hall of Fame announces new inductees on January 10

By Paul Upham: The International Boxing Hall of Fame will announce its newest inductees for 2002 on Thursday January 10, 2002, at 1pm in the Hall of Fame Museum, Canastota, New York.

Inductees will be named in five categories: Modern, Old-Timer, Pioneer, Non-Participant and Observer. Members of the Boxing Writers’ Association of America and an international panel of boxing historians cast the votes. Voters from Japan, England, Canada, Mexico, South Africa, Germany, Puerto Rico and the United States are among those who participated in the election process.

The Hall of Fame’s annual announcement is an eagerly anticipated moment as the boxing world turns its attention to Canastota to see who will be the next group of individuals to enter the Hall of Fame. As in the past, living honorees will receive a gold Hall of Fame Ring and a permanent place on the Hall of Fame Wall, said Executive Director Edward Brophy.

The Induction Weekend will be held on June 6-9 in Canastota, New York. Over 20 events, including a banquet, parade, professional boxing show, golf tournament and the official Induction Ceremony on the Hall of Fame grounds are scheduled. A celebrity line-up of over 50 boxing greats of yesterday and today is anticipated.

The class of 2001 inductees honoured were Ismael Laguna from Panama, Sugar Ramos from Mexico, Laszlo Papp from Hungary, promoter Don Chargin, record keeper/cutman Ralph Citro, NY Daily News cartoonist Bill Gallo and trainer George Benton.

The International Boxing Hall of Fame can be contacted on (1) 315 697-7095 for further information on the Hall of Fame induction weekend.

Paul Upham
Contributing Editor

License/buy our content  |  Privacy policy  |  Terms & conditions  |  Copyright  |  Advertising guide  |  Site Map  |  Write for  |  SecondsOut Contacts  |  Contact Us

© 2000 - 2011 Knockout Entertainment Ltd &