Ask The Editors Logo - click here to go back to the home page
News divider Features divider Schedules & Results divider Rankings and Stats divider Community My Profile Login

26 MAY 2018

Where am I? Home Main News

BWAA Awards Announcement

bwaa logo.jpg
bwaa logo.jpg

PRESS RELEASE-For Sergio Martinez, 2010 was a year to remember. He started by winning the world middleweight title from Kelly Pavlik, then successfully defended it with a sensational one-punch knockout of Paul Williams. As a result of Martinez’s success, the Boxing Writers Association of America have voted him recipient of the "Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of the Year" award. Martinez becomes the second boxer from Argentina to receive this prestigious honor, the first being Carlos Monzon in 1972.

Although his star pupil Manny Pacquiao was runner up in the "Fighter of the Year" voting, Freddie Roach maintained his perennial position as the "Trainer of the Year." Roach won the for the third year in a row and fifth time overall. The award has always had special meaning for Roach as it is named after his mentor Eddie Futch.

In December in Las Vegas, Amir Khan was pushed to the limit in winning a unanimous 12-round decision over Marcos Maidana. The intensity and fury of that contest earned both men the "Ali - Frazier" award for "Fight of the Year."

It is a safe bet to say that few have been at ringside for more shows than Jack Obermayer. At last count the number was well over 3,000 and climbing. Obermayer has finally been given his long overdue recognition by the BWAA, which has voted to honor him with the "Condon" award for "Long and Meritorious Service" to the sport.

The "Marvin Kohn Good Guy" award will be going to Bill Caplan. A long-time publicist for George Foreman, Caplan currently works in that capacity for Golden Boy Promotions.

Robert Guerrero had put his career on hold to deal with his wife Casey’s health issues. With her Leukemia in remission, Guerrero made a successful return to the ring. How he coped with the situation impressed the BWAA electorate who voted him the "Crawford" award for "Courage in Overcoming Adversity."

It had been previously announced that Micky Ward won the "James A. Farley" award for "Honesty and Integrity," and Steve Farhood the "Fleischer" award for "Excellence in Boxing Journalism."

All award winners will be honored at the BWAA’s 86th annual dinner, tentatively set for May 6, 2011 in Las Vegas.

License/buy our content  |  Privacy policy  |  Terms & conditions  |  Copyright  |  Advertising guide  |  Site Map  |  Write for  |  SecondsOut Contacts  |  Contact Us

© 2000 - 2011 Knockout Entertainment Ltd &