Valdez KO’s Tommasone In Seventh Round

TwitterFacebook
By Marc Livitz at ringside in Frisco, TX: Oscar Valdez used a few rounds to break a sweat, find his rhythm and see to it that Carmine Tommasone had a long plane ride back home to Italy after he scored a resounding seventh round technical knockout victory on Saturday night at the Ford Center in Frisco, Texas.
The unbeaten WBO Featherweight world champion didn’t take long to make it clear that he was simply too good. Tommasone (19-1, 5 KO’s) snapped his left jab early and may have been trying to let the champion know that he meant business. Oscar doubled the jab later in the round and blocked Carmine’s right hook with his gloves more than once.
Each man used the ring in the second and Valdez (25-0, 20 KO’s) did well with his jab to negate Tommasone’s efforts to move in close. He connected with a straight right to the body and looked to take the strategy into round three. Valdez continued to go high and just missed on a hard body shot. A counter right from Oscar found its mark a minute into the fourth.
Carmine was planted on his butt, though he quickly rose. With just over ten seconds to spare, Valdez scored with a left hook to the body which caused his Italian opponent to take a knee. As before, he regained his feet and did so just in time for the bell. Oscar’s silver gloves began to make noise across the landscape of Tommasone as the fifth was underway. His counter shots were visibly affecting his adversary from Avellino throughout the three minutes.
Another knockdown came less than a minute into round six after Valdez popped Carmine squarely on the face. The Italian took another knee to gather himself and he had moments in the remaining seconds as he attempted to keep his Nogales, Sonora, MX opponent at arm’s length. No sooner than the bell to begin the seventh ceased to resonate, the end finally came for the severely overmatched Italian. A left jab gave way to a superb short right hook to he chin which caused Carmine’s head to nearly rotate to its limits. The official time was nine seconds into round seven when referee Mark Nelson called the bout to a halt.
The loss for Tommasone wasn’t without a sliver lining, however as he got an affirmative answer from his fiancée after an in-ring proposal which delighted the crowd. “I was very excited and I tried not to get too crazy,” said the victorious champion. “The first round was a bit rough and I had to shake off the ring rust. We’re happy and we had a great training camp.” He said his previously broken jaw wasn’t an issue. “I didn’t really think about it,” he said. “It’s one hundred percent now. I was just so happy to be in the ring. This is my life and my passion. The sky’s the limit.”
TwitterFacebook
TwitterFacebook

SecondsOut Weekly Newsletter

YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Snapchat
Insta
© 2000 - 2018 Knockout Entertainment Ltd & SecondsOut.com