Green blows Siaca away in 3 rounds

Danny Green stops Manny Siaca
Danny Green stops Manny Siaca
By Paul Upham: In the opening exchanges Manny Siaca felt the power of Danny Green and quickly realised it is a bad idea to trade at close range with the IBO cruiserweight boxing world champion. Green knocked out Siaca in three rounds on Wednesday night at Challenge Stadium in Perth, Western Australia.

“I clipped him early and I clipped him hard in those clinches,” said Green. “I hit him with 20 or 30 short clubs and he felt the power and he was intimidated by it.”

In front of another sold out hometown crowd, 37 year-old Green 29-3 (26) came forward aggressively and was met in centre ring by the Puerto Rican former world champion.

There were some interesting exchanges as the usually straight punching Siaca attempted to back the Australian off.

34 year-old Siaca 22-7 (19) was cut above the right eye from a Green punch and walked back to his corner after the first round knowing he had a real problem.

In round 2, Siaca was dropped to the canvas by a straight right hand and barely made it to the end of the round.

Green jumped all over Siaca again quickly in round 3 and Siaca went down in the red corner from a fast combination of a left hook and two clubbing right hands. Referee Jack Reiss counted out Siaca at the 1:55 minute mark.

In May 2004, Siaca had upset Green’s arch-rival Anthony Mundine on points to win the WBA super middleweight world title.

With a match against Bernard Hopkins seemingly unrealistic due to the American greats’ reluctance, for the last two months Green has hinted at a possible move to heavyweight

“I’m stoked and I’m rapt,” said Green. “All I can do is defeat who is in front of me. Whoever feels my power, they are going to go, it doesn’t matter who it is, even at heavyweight.”

Wednesday 14 April 2010
Challenge Stadium, Perth, Western Australia, Australia

Danny Green W.KO.3 Manny Siaca – cruiserweight
Will Tomlinson W.UD.12 Oscar Bravo – super featherweight
Naoufel Ben Rabah W.UD.8 Solomon Egberime – welterweight
Jeremy Allan W.UD.6 Zac Awad – super middleweight
Adam Wills W.UD.6 Chad Roy Naidu – welterweight
Corey McConnell W.UD.4 Matt Garlett – super featherweight

Paul Upham
Content Editor
© 2000 - 2018 Knockout Entertainment Ltd &