Nissen, Waters Headline 2009 Australian Hall of Fame Inductees

Henry Nissen & Barry Michael
Henry Nissen & Barry Michael
By Paul Upham in Melbourne: The Australian National Boxing Hall of Fame held a press conference at the National Sports Museum on Wednesday October 7 to announce the 2009 Hall of Fame Inductees. Australian and Commonwealth flyweight champion Henry Nissen will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame on Saturday night, along with Troy Waters in the Modern category.

“I want to thank everyone from my trainer, my sparring partners and the officials for helping me achieve everything that I have achieved,” said Nissen. “I am proud to be inducted and I am very happy for my trainer, Peter Reid, who unfortunately can be here today. He brought me up from being a quiet, shy young man.”

“What a great thrill it is for us, as a world champion, to be inducted into the Hall of Fame,” said former IBF super featherweight world champion Barry Michael. “Now, to stand alongside Henry Nissen, who I sparred since I was about 18, seeing him win the Commonwealth flyweight title and now to see him receive the recognition of being inducted into the Australian Boxing Hall of Fame, it means so much.”

American commentator Colonel Bob Sheridan has a long association with Australian boxing, having called the Joe Frazier-Jimmy Ellis fight at the St.Kilda Junction Oval in March 1975. He will be a special guest of the Hall of Fame at this weekend’s Induction Ceremony.

“Whenever I am on television, I do whatever I can to help promote the sport of boxing,” said Sheridan. “We have to do whatever we can to promote boxing and it is a thrill for the champions to be inducted into a Hall of Fame. This is a national Hall of Fame and it is a tremendous honour for them.”

Hall of Fame President Brett McCormick announced all of the 2009 inductees in the following categories.

Pioneers: Bill Doherty
Old Timers: Dave Smith & Hughie Mehegan
Veterans: Bobby Sinn & Clive Stewart
Moderns: Henry Nissen & Troy Waters
Non Participants: William Lawless & John McDougall
Honorary Internationals: Tommy Burns

“I want to thank the National Sports Museum for allowing us to have our great Hall of Fame boxing display here,” added McCormick.
Author, columnist and media commentator Peter FitzSimons will also participate in elevating boxer Les Darcy to Legend status in the Hall of Fame.

The 7th Annual Induction Dinner event will be held in the Members Dining Room at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Saturday night October 10, 2009 at 7:00pm. Tickets at $140 per person (3 course meal, beer, wine and soft drinks included) are still available from Secretary, Mr Frank Maher on (03) 9478 3578.

More information on the Australian National Boxing Hall of Fame can be obtained at the official website

Paul Upham
Content Editor
McCormick, Nissen, Michael & Sheridan
McCormick, Nissen, Michael & Sheridan
Brett McCormick & Henry Nissen
Brett McCormick & Henry Nissen
© 2000 - 2018 Knockout Entertainment Ltd &